We Value Your Privacy

This site uses cookies to improve user experience. By continuing to browse, you accept the use of cookies and other technologies.

I UNDERSTAND
LEARN MORE

Science Fiction Books Stories

Since the publication of the first-ever sci-fi book—arguably Mary Shelley’s 1818 novel Frankenstein—the genre has been in constant dialogue with our present. Sci-fi books encourage readers to envision new realities, and often prove prescient, both in imagining tech that eventually becomes real, and predicting events that come to pass.

The breadth of the genre can make it seem intimidating to new readers, but we recommend 50 of the best sci-fi novels ever to start your reading voyage. Or, you can explore sci-fi’s eras in chronological order, from the early classics by authors such as Jules Verne and H.G Wells and the so-called Golden Age of Sci-Fi, to the New Wave, to more recent must-reads from the past few decades. 

Alternatively, it’s possible to break your sci-fi book exploration down into subgenres. Do you prefer interstellar epics with drama on a galactic scale? Consider space opera. Do you want your stories to be grounded in reality and natural sciences? Then hard sci-fi is probably for you.

Or perhaps you’re a veteran sci-fi reader whose shelves are heavy with staples of the genre. In that case, The Portalist recommends hidden gems and underrated books to complete your collection. 

Regardless of where you are on your sci-fi reading journey, The Portalist’s sci-fi book stories can guide you on your voyage among the stars 

17886299aeac-spaceship.png

17 Fun Science Fiction and Fantasy Beach Reads

Try these sci-fi and fantasy books while you enjoy some sun at the pool or the beach.

18 of the Best Debut Sci-Fi and Fantasy Novels

These first books have launched extraordinary careers. 

11 Cozy LGBTQ+ SFF Reads to Curl Up With

Books that feel like your favorite fuzzy blanket. 

8 Dieselpunk SFF for Fans of Mad Max and Furiosa

If you want a book that reads like Furiosa, try these titles.

8 Young Adult Sci-Fi and Fantasy Series You Should Try

If the young adult in your life needs a new series to help them procrastinate on their homework, try one of these fantastic speculative options.

8 Enterprising Books of Star Trek: The Next Generation

If you're a fan of Star Trek: The Next Generation, these novels offer a whole new galaxy of adventures.

33 Must-Read Space Opera Books

Take an adventure among the stars with these must-read sagas. 

8 SFF Books With Crazy Twist Endings

These unforgettable endings that mess with your mind.

Villain Origin Stories That Might Just Turn You to the Dark Side

From supervillains to fairy tale retellings, these novels explore the beginnings of evil.

26 Short Story Collections and Anthologies Every Sci-Fi & Fantasy Fan Should Read

These collections prove short stories can have the biggest impact.

Books Like Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

If you're excited for the TV adaptation of Blake Crouch's bestselling Dark Matter, be sure to try these great sci-fi thrillers.

17 Riveting Books Like Red Rising

Find your new sci-fi obsession with these out-of-this-world epics.

11 Mind-Bending Biopunk Books

These compelling reads form the DNA of this sci-fi subgenre.