• search-icon

8 Powerful Post-Apocalyptic Books

It's the end of the world as we know it: These post-apocalyptic novels offer terrifying visions that will have you hooked.

Post-apocalyptic fiction offers readers a chance to safely imagine the end of society. It allows us to process at a distance the incredible loss that will come when humanity as we know it inevitably ends, whether from environmental destruction, nuclear war, or disease. Maybe it's the ability to look our destruction in the face — then close the cover and return unscathed to our daily lives — which makes post-apocalyptic books so gripping. These are our recommendations for eight of the best post-apocalyptic books. They're perfect reads for when you need a reminder about the fragility of our world — and the indomitability of human hope.  

Buy The Chaos Function at Amazon

The Chaos Function

By Jack Skillingstead

As an international journalist whose career has brought her to the front lines of the world’s most dangerous war zones, Olivia is used to crises. But nothing could have prepared her for her time in Syria. While on assignment in Aleppo, Olivia — against her better judgment — falls for an aid worker named Brian. When Brian is killed protecting Olivia, she'd do anything to bring him back. And, incredibly, she gets the chance to do just that. 

Olivia is shown incredible technology at an ancient sacred site, including a tool with the capacity to change the past and re-shape the future. She makes the risky decision to alter reality and revive Brian, but in doing so Olivia also ushers in the end of the world. Her rash actions have pushed Earth to the precipice of nuclear collapse. Now, Olivia and Brian are in a race against time to save the planet and prevent the dangerous tech from falling into the wrong hands. Spoonbenders author Daryl Gregory says this unique novel "left me feeling like I’d been strapped to the front of the car like Mad Max in Fury Road" — so you know it's bound to be an unforgettable, apocalyptic ride. 

RELATED: 11 Scary-Good Sci-Fi Horror Books 

The Chaos Function

By Jack Skillingstead

Buy The Disappearance at Amazon

The Disappearance

By Philip Wylie

This 1951 novel is perfect for fans of The Leftovers and other stories that explore what post-apocalyptic life is like for those left behind. In an instant, everything changes for the people of The Disappearance: men vanish from the world of women, and women from the world of men. Suddenly living in separate timelines, unaware of what has happened to their friends, parents, lovers, and children, men and women must learn to forget the gender roles prescribed to them by the society of the old world. In The Disappearance, Wylie explores gender issues and the institutionalized sexism of his time, issues which unfortunately are still relevant nearly 70 years after this addition to the post-apocalyptic genre was published.

The Disappearance

By Philip Wylie

Buy A Boy and His Dog at Amazon

A Boy and His Dog

By Harlan Ellison

This Nebula Award-winning 1964 novella by Harlan Ellison continues to inspire post-apocalyptic media today, like the video game franchise Fallout. Set in a post-nuclear America, it follows Vic, a young boy roaming the ruins of the country with his loyal telepathic dog Blood by his side. But their connection isn’t the classic boy-and-his-dog relationship seen in more wholesome stories. Blood brings women to Vic so that Vic can terrorize them; in exchange, Vic makes sure Blood has food. When the pair are drawn into an underground civilization, their strange and savage relationship is forever changed. 

RELATED: 10 Must-Read Works by Harlan Ellison 

A Boy and His Dog

By Harlan Ellison

Buy At Winter's End at Amazon

At Winter's End

By Robert Silverberg

When the objects from space struck, humans were forced to seek refuge underground to survive. For thousands of years, generation after generation has lived below ground, finding ways to thrive in their subterranean community. Now, Chieftain Koshmar senses that the legendary New Springtime has arrived. It's time for her to lead the tribe out of the dark and into the light. But what they find above ground will test their loyalty to each other — and forever change the future of humanity. From Grand Master Robert Silverberg, this is the first title in a totally unique post-apocalyptic series exploring the nature of our species. 

RELATED: Sci-Fi Great Robert Silverberg Talks Time Travel 

At Winter's End

By Robert Silverberg

Buy In the Drift at Amazon

In the Drift

By Michael Swanwick

100 years ago, the nuclear reactor on Three Mile Island went into meltdown. Now, the land around the reactor is the site of not only environmental destruction— poisonous air, unrecognizable earth — but also vampires and other previously-inconceivable monsters. This terrifying novel chronicles the lives of survivors on opposite sides of the drift as they struggle to retain their humanity in a new Hell on Earth. George R.R. Martin called In the Drift "a potent new myth from the reality of radioactive waste," and you know it's serious when Mr. Red Wedding himself calls a sci-fi horror book 'potent.'

RELATED: 12 Books With an Environmental Message 

In the Drift

By Michael Swanwick

Buy Earthseed at Amazon

Earthseed

By Octavia E. Butler

This two-novel series by Octavia E. Butler opens with The Parable of the Sower, which offers a vision of the post-apocalypse that is terrifying in its plausibility. Book one begins in near-future dystopian Los Angeles, seen through the eyes of Lauren Olamina, a hyper-empathic teenager. When the gated compound her family hides in is destroyed by marauders, Lauren leads a group of survivors across the wreckage of California. Along the way, she helps her companions come to terms with the new world via the teachings of Earthseed, a belief system she has created around the central tenet that God Is Change. 

Book two follows Lauren’s disciples as they watch while a tyrannical despot promising to ‘Make America Great Again’ rises up out of the ruins of society, attempting to restore order but ushering in new horrors at the same time. 

RELATED: 14 Octavia Butler Books: The Complete Canon 

Earthseed

By Octavia E. Butler

Buy Station Eleven at Amazon

Station Eleven

By Emily St. John Mandel

This 2015 Arthur C. Clarke Award-winning novel is as scary as it is unforgettable. Spanning across North America, but centering specifically around the Great Lakes region, it charts the impact of the devastating Georgia Flu. 20 years after the pandemic, Kirsten Raymonde is part of a troupe of nomadic performers known as the Traveling Symphony who tour the remnants of society, putting on plays. 

When the troupe comes across a predatory figure known as the Prophet, they get a brutal reminder that not all survivors are trying to remember the good in humanity. Weaving stories from before the flu and after into an unforgettable exploration of what it means to hope and to seek happiness, Station Eleven is one of the greatest post-apocalyptic novels in recent years. 

Station Eleven

By Emily St. John Mandel

Buy Zone One at Amazon

Zone One

By Colson Whitehead

Pulitzer Prize-winner Colson Whitehead has written one of the greatest zombie novels ever. Set over three days, Zone One follows Mark Spitz, a member of a ‘Sweeper’ unit tasked with eliminating harmless catatonic zombies in lower Manhattan, now known as Zone One. Through Mark’s reflections and memories, we learn how a virus quickly ended society, how the pandemic culminated in an evening of terrors now called ‘Last Night,’ and how survivors ultimately turned the tide of the war against the armies of the undead. Now, Spitz and his comrades are conducting a final sweep of New York before the city will be declared clear. But Mark and his fellow soldiers can't trust that the nightmare is over.  

RELATED: 9 Zombie Books So Good They'll Infect You 

Zone One

By Colson Whitehead

This post is sponsored by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. Thank you for supporting our partners, who make it possible for The Portalist to continue publishing the sci-fi and fantasy stories you love.

Published on 21 Mar 2019

scroll up