10 Locus Award Winners and Nominees That Were Instant Classics

These Locus-recognized books deserve a spot in your home library.

Locus Awards Goblin Emperor

2020 Locus Award for Best First Novel

2019 Nebula Awards finalists

Gideon the Ninth

By Tasmyn Muir

2015 Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel

best fantasy books

The Goblin Emperor

By Katherine Addison

2013 Locus Award for Best First Novel

best fantasy books

Throne of the Crescent Moon

By Saladin Ahmed

2012 Locus Award for Best First Novel

the night circus erin morgenstern fantasy romance books

The Night Circus

By Erin Morgenstern

2010 Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel

steampunk books Boneshaker Cherie Priest


By Cherie Priest

1985 Locus Award for Best Novelette 

Buy Bloodchild at Amazon


By Octavia E. Butler

1986 Best Novella Nominee

Buy Sailing to Byzantium at Amazon

Sailing to Byzantium

By Robert Silverberg

1984 Best Anthology Nominee



By Jessica Amanda Salmonson

1980 Best Fantasy Novel Nominee

Buy Tales of Nevèrÿon at Amazon

Tales of Nevèrÿon

By Samuel R. Delany

1976 Best Single Author Collection Nominee

Buy The Best of C.L. Moore at Amazon

The Best of C.L. Moore

By C.L. Moore