Fall for the 2017 World Fantasy Award Winners

    If you haven't dived into these great reads yet, it's officially time to add them to your list.

    On Sunday night, the winners of the World Fantasy Awards were announced during the annual World Fantasy Convention, held for 2017 in San Antonio, Texas. 

    This year's winners are notable not just for the exceptional body of work they represent, but as the first-ever slate to take home the new award design. 

    From the World Fantasy Awards' inception in 1975, through 2015, winners were awarded a bust of H.P. Lovecraft. But in recent years, numerous editors and authors—including World Fantasy Award winners Sofia Samatar, Nnedi Okorafor, and China Mieville—expressed frustration that the physical award honored a man who would likely have hated many of the winners based on their race. A petition begun by author Daniel José Older in 2014 called for the Lovecraft statue to be replaced with an award honoring Octavia E. Butler, arguing that although Lovecraft "did leave a lasting mark on speculative fiction, he was also an avowed racist."

    RELATED: The Patterns Around Octavia Butler 

    During last year's ceremony, administrators announced that the Lovecraft bust would be replaced; this year's winners took home awards designed by sculptor and artist Vincent Villafranca.

    You can check out a complete list of winners, and see some of them show off their historic awards, below. Additionally, Terry Brooks and Marina Warner were both presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

    World Fantasy Awards 2017

    Terry Brooks with his Lifetime Achievement Award.

    Photo Credit: Betsy Mitchell

    Best Novel

    The Sudden Appearance of Hope

    By Claire North


    RELATED: 15 Must-Read Nebula Award-Winning Books 

    Best Long Fiction


    Best Short Fiction

    Winner: "Das Steingeschöpf" by G.V. Anderson


    Best Anthology



    World Fantasy Awards

    Author Pat Murphy holds a cookie representing a concerned environmental scientist during the 2017 World Fantasy Convention.

    Photo Credit: Betsy Mitchell

    Best Collection


    RELATED: 50 of the Best Fantasy Characters Ever  

    Best Artist

    Special Award, Professional

    Winner: Michael Levy & Farah Mendlesohn, for Children’s Fantasy Literature: An Introduction (Cambridge University Press) 


    Special Award, Non-Professional

    Winner: Neile Graham, for fostering excellence in the genre through her role as Workshop Director, Clarion West (winner)


    [via The Verge]

    Featured photo via World Fantasy Awards Administration

    scroll up