We Value Your Privacy

This site uses cookies to improve user experience. By continuing to browse, you accept the use of cookies and other technologies.


5 Young Adult Sci-Fi and Fantasy Series You Should Try

If the young adult in your life needs a new series to help them procrastinate on their homework, try one of these fantastic speculative options.

Ascenders Saga Collage by C. L. Gaber

Science fiction and fantasy stories are all about the journey. Unlikely heroes can come from any background and origin as they grow and develop their skills. That’s why young-adult series are a perfect match for speculative fiction. Not only does a series allow characters to learn through experience, training, and wisdom, but readers can grow up with their heroes. 

While kids and young adults are all heading back to school, these series are a lot more fun than a textbook. Try one of them to set out on a satisfying adventure through space, myth, and more.

5 Great YA Sci-Fi and Fantasy Series

The Ascenders Saga by C. L. Gaber

Ascenders by C. L. Gaber


By C. L. Gaber

Remember when we talked about how a sci-fi/fantasy series lets the heroes grow up with its readers? Well, a little thing like death isn’t going to stop Walker Callaghan, the heroine of C.L. Gaber’s Ascenders Saga, of doing just that. When Walker dies at the age of 17, she arrives at a place called The Academy. The only thing the people there share in common is that they all were on the morning announcements of their local high schools because they died young. 

Now, Walker must navigate not only the realm of the dead, but also the strangely familiar dynamics of high school. There might not be any tests or SATs, but there are still cliques, classes, and of course crushes. 

The story only evolves from there, and Walker learns more about The Academy, The Other, the Mist, and all sorts of imaginary afterlifes while she searches for a place she can truly call home. 

Everlife by Gena Showalter



By Gena Showalter

Gena Showalter might be better-known for her romantasy stories, but she’s no stranger to the YA space, either. Her White Rabbit Chronicles offer a zombified retelling of Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland books, while the Everlife trilogy takes a look at life after death. In Showalter’s world, death is only the beginning, for a first life is followed by what’s known as the “everlife,” where two factions war against each other for dominance. The series follows 17-year-old Tenley as she decides not only where she wants to go in the afterlife, but how she wants to contribute to what feels like a never-ending war. 

The Fever Crumb Trilogy by Philip Reeve

Fever Crumb

Fever Crumb

By Philip Reeve

The Fever Crumb Trilogy begins with London on the brink of the apocalypse and follows orphan Fever Crumb. Fever’s engineering mind might just be able to save humanity, but only if she can figure out who to trust and how to survive the threats all around her. 

If you love Fever’s saga and want to continue to read more books in the same world, you can always move on to Philip Reeve’s Mortal Engines series, which was eventually turned into a Peter Jackson film. The Fever Crumb Trilogy takes place in the same world but acts as a prequel series (though it’s set many, many years before). 

The Witches of London by Alyxandra Harvey

The Witches of London Trilogy

The Witches of London Trilogy

By Alyxandra Harvey

Where the Fever Crumb Trilogy takes place in a future version of London, Alexandra Harvey takes readers back to the past of 1814 London society. When three cousins (Emma, Gretchen, and Penelope) are gifted with powers of witchcraft, they find new strength. They also find themselves the target of a coven whose members gain power from killing young witches. 

Each of the three cousins get a chance to shine in this trilogy, as each book places a spotlight on one book. The first in the series, The Secret Witch, it’s Emma who takes center stage. Next is Gretchen in The Whisper Witch, followed by Penelope’s turn in The Bone Witch. So, regardless of which of the three cousins you find yourself relating to, there’s definitely a book for you. 

Red Rising by Pierce Brown


Red Rising

By Pierce Brown

If you’re a fan of The Hunger Games, you’ll love this series by Pierce Brown (the latest installment of which, Light Bringer, published earlier this year). While some would argue the book is stylistically more like an adult novel, the tropes within read more like YA in our opinion. Not only does the story begin with a battle royale, but that battle serves a second function as a school for battle, where the elites learn to fight against one another.

In this sci-fi series, the cosmos have been stratified by castes marked with colors. Red is the lowest caste, while Gold is the highest. When Darrow, a Red in search of revenge, manages to infiltrate the Gold’s highest rungs, his deceit and cunning cause all sorts of problems for his enemies, his friends, and especially Darrow himself.