We Value Your Privacy

This site uses cookies to improve user experience. By continuing to browse, you accept the use of cookies and other technologies.


Here Are All the 2022 Hugo Award Winners

Add these acclaimed books to your TBR today!

  • camera-icon
  • Photo Credit: Image via cover of 'A Psalm for the Wild-Built' by Becky Chambers.

The Hugo Award winners 2022 were announced on September 4th at the 80th World Science Fiction Convention in Chicago, in a ceremony hosted by Annalee Newitz and Charlie Jane Anders. The recipients of the Astounding Award for Best New Writer and the Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book were also announced during the same evening. 

This year's Hugo winners included N.K. Jemisin, Seanan McGuire, Becky Chambers, and other greats. Explore the complete list of recipients below!

Best Novel

Best Novella

Best Novelette


"Bots of the Lost Ark"

By Suzanne Palmer

Best Series

The Wayward Children Series

portal fiction

Every Heart a Doorway

By Seanan McGuire

Best Graphic Story or Comic

Best Related Work

See the rest of the nominees and winners below! 

Best Short Story

WINNER: Where Oaken Hearts Do Gather”, Sarah Pinsker (Uncanny 3-4/21)

  • “Mr. Death”, Alix E. Harrow (Apex 2/21)
  • “Proof by Induction”, José Pablo Iriarte (Uncanny 5-6/21)
  • “Tangles”, Seanan McGuire (com: Magic Story 9/21)
  • “Unknown Number”, Blue Neustifter (Twitter 7/21)
  • “The Sin of America”, Catherynne M. Valente (Uncanny 3-4/21)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form


  • Encanto
  • The Green Knight
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings
  • Space Sweepers
  • WandaVision

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

WINNER: The Expanse: “Nemesis Games”

  • Arcane: “The Monster You Created”
  • For All Mankind: “The Grey”
  • Loki: “The Nexus Event”
  • Star Trek: Lower Decks: “wej Duj”
  • The Wheel of Time: “The Flame of Tar Valon”

Best Editor, Short Form

WINNER: Neil Clarke

  • Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki
  • Mur Lafferty & S.B. Divya
  • Jonathan Strahan
  • Sheree Renée Thomas
  • Sheila Williams

Best Editor, Long Form

WINNER: Ruoxi Chen

  • Nivia Evans
  • Sarah T. Guan
  • Patrick Nielsen Hayden
  • Brit Hvide
  • Navah Wolfe

Best Professional Artist

WINNER: Rovina Cai

  • Tommy Arnold
  • Ashley Mackenzie
  • Maurizio Manzieri
  • Will Staehle
  • Alyssa Winans

Best Semiprozine

WINNER: Uncanny

  • Beneath Ceaseless Skies
  • Escape Pod
  • PodCastle
  • Strange Horizons

Best Fanzine

WINNER: Small Gods

  • The Full Lid
  • Galactic Journey
  • Journey Planet
  • Quick Sip Reviews
  • Unofficial Hugo Book Club Blog

Best Fancast

WINNER: Our Opinions Are Correct

  • Be The Serpent
  • The Coode Street Podcast
  • Hugo, Girl!
  • Octothorpe
  • Worldbuilding for Masochists

Best Fan Writer

WINNER: Cora Buhlert

  • Chris M. Barkley
  • Bitter Karella
  • Alex Brown
  • Jason Sanford
  • Paul Weimer

Best Fan Artist

WINNER: Lee Moyer

  • Iain J. Clark
  • Lorelei Esther
  • Sara Felix
  • Ariela Housman
  • Nilah Magruder

Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book (Not a Hugo)

WINNER: The Last Graduate, Naomi Novik 

  • Victories Greater Than Death, Charlie Jane Anders 
  • A Snake Falls to Earth, Darcie Little Badger 
  • Redemptor, Jordan Ifueko 
  • Chaos on CatNet, Naomi Kritzer 
  • Iron Widow, Xiran Jay Zhao 

Astounding Award for Best New Writer (Not a Hugo)

WINNER: Shelley Parker-Chan

  • Tracy Deonn
  • Micaiah Johnson
  • A.K. Larkwood
  • Everina Maxwell
  • Xiran Jay Zhao