We Value Your Privacy

This site uses cookies to improve user experience. By continuing to browse, you accept the use of cookies and other technologies.


Congratulations to the 2021 Nebula Award Winners! See the Complete List

How many have you read?

2021 Nebula Award winners
  • camera-icon
  • Photo Credit: Image via 'A Master of Djinn.'

The winners of the 57th Annual Nebula Awards were announced Saturday, May 21st at a ceremony co-hosted by toastmasters Connie Willis and Neil Gaiman. The ceremony was part of the 2022 Nebula Conference, which was held virtually this year. 

See the complete list of 2021 Nebula Award Winners below!

2021 Nebula Award for Best Novel


  • A Master of Djinn, P. Djèlí Clark 
  • The Unbroken, C.L. Clark
  • Machinehood, S.B. Divya 
  • A Desolation Called Peace, Arkady Martine 
  • Plague Birds, Jason Sanford

2021 Nebula Award for Best Novella


  • And What Can We Offer You Tonight, Premee Mohamed 
  • A Psalm for the Wild-Built, Becky Chambers 
  • Fireheart Tiger, Aliette de Bodard 
  • Sun-Daughters, Sea-Daughters, Aimee Ogden
  • Flowers for the Sea, Zin E. Rocklyn 
  • The Necessity of Stars, E. Catherine Tobler 
  • “The Giants of the Violet Sea”, Eugenia Triantafyllou

2021 Nebula Award for Best Novelette 

"02 Arena," by Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki


  • O2 Arena”, Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki
  • “Just Enough Rain“, PH Lee 
  • “(emet)”, Lauren Ring 
  • “That Story Isn’t the Story“, John Wiswell 
  • “Colors of the Immortal Palette“, Caroline M. Yoachim 

2020 Andre Norton Award for Outstanding Young Adult Science Fiction or Fantasy Book


  • A Snake Falls to Earth, Darcie Little Badger
  • Victories Greater Than Death, Charlie Jane Anders 
  • Thornwood, Leah Cypess 
  • Redemptor, Jordan Ifueko 
  • Root Magic, Eden Royce 
  • Iron Widow, Xiran Jay Zhao 

See the full list of nominees and winners below (winners in bold)!

Ray Bradbury Award

  • WandaVision
  • Encanto
  • The Green Knight
  • Loki
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings
  • Space Sweepers
  • What We Do in the Shadows: Season 3

Game Writing

  • Thirsty Sword Lesbians
  • Coyote & Crow
  • Granma’s Hand
  • Wanderhome
  • Wildermyth

The SFWA Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award

  • Mercedes Lackey

The Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award

  • Arley Sorg
  • Troy L. Wiggins
  • Petra Mayer (posthumous)

The Kevin J O’Donnell, Jr. Service to SFWA Award

  • Colin Coyle