8 New Books We Can't Wait to Read This January

The weather outside is frightful, but these books look so delightful. 

new books

January means frightful weather — and plenty of opportunities to stay inside by the fire, curled up with a great book. Luckily, there are tons of exciting new titles releasing this month. The following are some of the new books we're most excited to add to our TBR pile in the first month of 2019. From the latest title in a complex military sci-fi saga, to a highly-anticipated new title in Seanan McGuire's Wayward Children series, our January is booked. We're ready to grab a cup of tea and curl up in a chair with a fantastic sci-fi and fantasy story...or several. 

Did we leave off a title that you're looking forward to? Share it with us in the comments!  

Buy Alliance Rising at Amazon

Alliance Rising

By C.J. Cherryh

Release date: January 8th

Grand Master CJ Cherryh returns to her Alliance-Union universe with Alliance Rising. When the residents of Alpha station are alerted to the presence of a mysterious ship with no identification — The Rights of Man — many suspect it comes from the Pell system. But Finity's End captain James Robert Neihart has heard rumors about this enigmatic vessel, and knows that this new arrival may alter the megastations of the Beyond forever. 

RELATED: Chuck Wendig's Wanderers Is a Unique Look at a Potential Armageddon 

Buy The Winter of the Witch  at Amazon

The Winter of the Witch

By Katherine Arden

Release date: January 8th

The highly-anticipated followup to The Bear and the Nightingale and The Girl in the Tower, The Winter of the Witch sees Vasya caught in an epic struggle. Vasya must balance her desire to save Russia, her loyalty to winter king Morozko, and her battle with a demon that is chaos incarnate. 

Buy Through Fiery Trials at Amazon

Through Fiery Trials

By David Weber

Release date: January 8th

David Weber's fascinating military sci-fi series Safehold continues in the tenth book, Through Fiery Trials. Advocates for greater technological advancements have temporarily triumphed over Luddites, and the island of Charis steams ahead toward greater industrialization. Meanwhile, long-simmering prophecies and conflicts come to a head...

RELATED: 19 Sci-Fi Book Series You Won't Want to Miss  

Buy In an Absent Dream at Amazon

In an Absent Dream

By Seanan McGuire

Release date: January 15th

In an Absent Dream is the fourth standalone book in Seanan McGuire’s incredible and multiple award-winning Wayward Children series. Growing up in the 60s, Lundy has always cared more about imagination and things unseen than earthly priorities or obligations. When she finds a portal to an extraordinary world, she gladly escapes to it, feeling she has found her destiny — but all good things come to an end. Unfortunately, the debt she owes for her time in the goblin market may not be as temporary. 

Buy Shadow Captain  at Amazon

Shadow Captain

By Alastair Reynolds

Release date: January 15th

The sequel to the Locus Award-winning swashbuckling sci-fi story Revenger, Shadow Captain continues the story of sisters Adrana and Fura Ness. Adrana is reeling from her time spent as a captive of the fearsome pirate Bosa Sennen, while her sister is fixated on rumors of Bosa's immense wealth. Bosa still casts a fearsome shadow over the galaxy — and over the two sisters. 

RELATED: 13 Sci-Fi Short Stories You Can Read Over Your Lunch Break 

Buy Vultures  at Amazon


By Chuck Wendig

Release date: January 22nd.

We couldn't be more excited for this final installment in the fantastic six-book Miriam Black series by Chuck Wendig. When she touches others, Miriam is cursed with seeing how they will die. But things have changed: The Tresspaser demon has the ability to invade the work of the living, and Miriam now knows that she is the Fatebreaker — and that she's pregnant. 

RELATED: 5 Ways Animorphs Shaped Who I Am 

Buy King of Scars at Amazon

King of Scars

By Leigh Bardugo

Release date: January 29th

The first book in a new duology set in Leigh Bardugo’s Grishaverse, King of Scars centers around Nikolai, a young king with a traumatic past and a secret he’s desperate to hide. After his country’s violent civil war, Nikolai is doing everything he can to maintain tenuous peace and prosperity within the kingdom. But a dark secret within himself threatens to destroy all he’s working for. Nikolai makes a pilgrimage to the most magically potent places in Ravka to tackle the beasts within. 

RELATED: Enter to Win a Copy of Leigh Bardugo's King of Scars 

Buy Here and Now and Then  at Amazon

Here and Now and Then

By Mike Chen

Release date: January 29th

The debut novel by Portalist contributor Mike Chen, Here and Now and Then is an emotional sci-fi story about a man pulled between two times and two families. Kin Stewart is a typical present-day father, dedicated to his wife and his daughter Miranda. But Kin is hiding an extraordinary secret: He's also a time-traveling spy originally from 2142. 18 years ago, a mission left him stranded in the 90s. Nearly two decades later, representatives of the agency arrive to return Kin to his life in 2142, reuniting him with the family he left behind in the future. Divided between two lives, Kin's efforts to stay connected to both of his families threaten those he loves most —and the very fabric of time itself. 

Featured image from "Through Fiery Trials"

Published on 4 Jan 2019